The historic buildings of Corinth “hide” many interesting stories while their architecture still impresses today. Look for them.
It is the oldest and most historic building, currently in the city, forming an architectural landmark. The Courthouse was built in 1908 at Ethnikis Antistaseos road. It is an active and vibrant building that is buzzing with life every day.
National Bank building
The National Bank building has been housed in the same building, at Ethnikis Antistaseos street, since 1934. The architects of the project were Nikolaos Zoumboulidis (1888-1969) designed many branches of the National Bank that were built during the interwar period in several cities.
Corinth Theological School
It is a two-floor building complex at the start of Krokida Street, in Corinth. It was originally built in 1924 and served as a Theological School. After the earthquakes of 1928, it was reconstructed and operated as a Church school and then as an Ecclesiastical High School until 1971. From 1971 until today it houses the services of the Regional Unit of Corinth.
Elements of Byzantine architecture have been incorporated in these buildings showing an excellent example of ecclesiastical, austere, architecture of the interwar period. Since 1996, the building of the Theological School has been declared protected by the Ministry of Culture.
The Corinth Railway Station was built in 1955 by Architect Antonis Dragoumis and is a model of modern railway architecture. Careful planning has been done so that the building is adapted to the general image of the city as it was in 1955. The scope was to to bring in line, the design and the anti-seismic architecture of the city’s buildings. At that same time, it was referring to the historical past of Corinth, such as its painted Corinthian Mythology and History rooms and the pedestal at the docks. It is the only public building in Corinth that has such extensive references to its historical past.
The Corinth Railway Station, along with its pumping stations, engine room, and few more, some dating from 1929 and 1916, are unique architectural ensembles of industrial archeology and are of the city’s most historic sites. Since its construction in July 1884 by the historical company with the name “Piraeus Athens Athens Peloponnese Railways SA.” (the well-known SPAP), the rapid development of Corinth was achieved, as well as the rest of the coast of Corinth.
Corinth Municipal Market
The Municipal Market of Corinth is an interesting public building, with important architectural and historical values, a key feature of the history and identity of the city.
It was built in 1930 on the site of the Agora (meaning marketplace), which was demolished by the great earthquake of 1929 and is a typical example of the first organized effort of Greek engineers to rebuild a city that had been hit by the earthquake with reinforced concrete and modern ideas.
The building perfectly combines the traditional typology of the building with a portico and an inner courtyard, having a simple arch and a simplified morphology, which met the requirements of modern times.
The building was built in 1929 by American architect T. Bronderick and was probably one of the first buildings built after the 1928 earthquake, as in July 1929 it was insured with the English company Royal Exchange Assurance for the huge amount of 300,000 drachmas.
It is made entirely of wood, has an exterior metal cladding to protect it from the humid climate of Corinth, sash windows of Anglo-American design and an entrance door with colorful windows and follows the symmetrical Georgian floor plan (architectural style with J architectural style Gibbs, W. Salmon, etc.), which was widely applied in England and the USA.
The whole construction manages in a unique way to combine the American anti-seismic know-how with the Greek urban architecture of the interwar period.
The building was visited by Prime Minister Eleftherios Venizelos, who maintained a personal friendship with its owner Dimitrios Zampanis – Gonatas, when he came to Corinth.
During the occupation, the building was occupied by the Germans and used as accommodation for Wehrmacht high-ranking officers, including General Franz Krech, who was killed by ELAS in Molai.
In 1994 the building was declared a listed building and is a very important part of the architectural heritage of Corinth and a unique building in all of Greece.